Breakthrough blind crafter

I’m not sure if I should really be calling myself a breakthrough blind crafter because I’m sure that other totally blind people have crafty skills. I have spoken on a that list to a few wood carvers, for example, when I was considering expanding my skills in that direction to create custom designed talisman jewelry from scratch. A few very knowledgeable guys talked the trade to me enough that I decided it probably wasn’t for me. Too many tools and I’d prefer a hands on class before investing to be honest, but they knew their stuff. while I haven’t seen or touched any of their work personally so can’t vouch for it, we’re assuming it’s decent.
I give myself the title, for the sake of this article, of breakthrough blind crafter because I haven’t seen/heard anyone else on youtube who is blind making D.I.Y videos anything like mine. I think with or without sight I make some pretty cool/unusual items. Purses from Steampunk purses and headbands entirely comprised of gemstones to name a few.
I didn’t think my ideas were too complex, but as I’ve not seen anyone else doing them, i am beginning to develop an appreciation for them and change my mind. I suppose when anyone     `has a natural talent it doesn’t seem hard or like that big a deal…which is what gives it the cool factor in part I think. I wire wrap gemstone pendants, make gemstone bead bracelets and sculpt wire into pendants as well, and again didn’t think it was a big deal. I don’t know a lot of blind people doing wire wraps, but hell I don’t know a lot of blind people in general, having always attended public school and having mostly sighted friends anyway. A few years back, though, my perspective on that changed as well.
My husband and I were members of our local gem and mineral society and I came to help them make jewelry for a sale. It’s fun because they have all the supplies, rocks, and fun tools that you can use all you like in any creative way you choose if you’re helping make stuff for free for them to  sell. So enjoying the creative outlet it was a thing I did for a little before I finally gave up on waking up by 9 AM or so to get it done because…lets face it, for some of us 9 AM is an ungodly hour in the middle of the freaking night when NO ONE should be out of bed!!!
So I’m there at the gem and mineral society wire wrapping tumbled stones into pendants. I tend to be a faster person in general, moving quickly and talking quickly, according to others, but it’s just my natural flow so I don’t usually notice. Apparently I made 5 really nice pendants in the time it took all the other ladies with 20 20 vision to make one. They were on about how fast I was, so this became another new thing I began to appreciate about myself that I thought was just normal’ previously. I assumed anyone could wire wrap that quickly, and some people surely can, just not most from what they said.
I personally don’t think that makes me special but loads of people seem to assume that not looking at something makes it nearly impossible to do. I feel that my hands often provide more and faster detail than someone’s eyes, but I’ve only had my hands to see with so I honestly can’t know.
Anyway, the point is if your creative, into making neat and different things, but also lazy and not wanting to put a ton of work into your crafting, check out my youtube D.I.Y play list below, because I’ve got you covered. After all, if a blind chick can do it…
Leave a Reply

